Chess diagram generator

I’m writing this posting because I have struggled with the issue of diagrams of games for a few weeks now. Having found what I think is an elegant and time-saving solution, I’d like to pass on the information. If you never think you’ll need to generate diagrams for a website, look away now! Otherwise, stick around and you might learn a new way of doing it.

Prior to today, to generate chess diagrams for the Rathmines website, I had been taking screen grabs of positions from Fritz, editing the image in Microsoft Paint, and then uploading the images to the site, before putting in a link to the image manually. This was very labour intensive. I thought, there must be a better way! So I went looking for an alternative and I think I’ve found it.

I will now use a tool at a site called ChessVideos.tv. It allows you to generate diagrams relatively simply, then just link to the image you generate (a .png file) via a link they give you. They host the image for you. It couldn’t be simpler.

Instructions:

  1. Go to http://www.chessvideos.tv/chess-diagram-generator.php
  2. Create the diagram you want (note: to capture a piece, you need to remove it first, then move the taking piece onto the empty square).
  3. Hit the Generate Diagram button
  4. Cut the second bit of HTML you see (labelled “To insert into your blog (straight HTML): “)
  5. Paste this into the Code section of the blog (in WordPress) or directly into the HTML of your page, if not WordPress.

Here’s a sample I did earlier:

But, it’s actually even cooler than that, if you do happen to have Fritz installed. Fritz can generate FEN for you. Go to File – New – Position when looking at the position you want as a diagram. Just hit the Copy Fen button and go to the site above, enter the Fen into the text box they provide, and generate the diagram from there. It is very fast and convenient.

  1. #1 by Michael K on November 9, 2007 - 10:46 am

    Snap! I just found the same site myself the other day – so this is how I’ll do the diagrams in future…

  2. #2 by rathmineschessclub on November 9, 2007 - 12:08 pm

    Michael, I’d like to see crucial positions from games on the site, to brighten it up, so please do use it. In your case, just insert the link in the report and it should work from there. For me, it saves so much time!
    By the way, that site also hosts games so that you can insert them into your blog or site. But, unfortunately, I cannot get WordPress to host the frames that it requires. I would love to be able to host games too, which is the ultimate aim. If you know of any way to do that, please let me know.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

