Monthly Archives: February 2011

Polimac vs. Scannell

Played on Saturday, February 19th, 2011. Armstrong Cup, Kilkenny vs Rathmines (board 6). Polimac, Darko (1989) vs Scannell, Tony (1822) Replay Game Here Reti Opening or Nimzovich-Larsen attack 1. b3 Nf6 2. Bb2 d5 3. Nf3 c5 4. e3 Nbd7 5. … Continue reading

Posted in Armstrong Cup | Leave a comment

It was Short and it was not short

Four Rathmines players were involved in the Nigel Short simul on Tuesday night – Killian Delaney, Michael Kennedy, Ian Maloney, and myself, Tony Scannell. And what a night! Play started about 8.30pm, after a fascinating lecture from Nigel, and only … Continue reading

Posted in chess | 3 Comments

Armstrong B get a great result vs Phibsboro

With every point required to avoid the drop, this win comes at just the right time. Fantastic result, with the bottom four boards proving to be the decisive factor. Rathmines B vs Phibsboro Played Monday 21st February. T Skrzypnik 0-1 … Continue reading

Posted in Armstrong Cup | 2 Comments

Strong Kilkenny team overcome Armstrong A

Here´s the scorecard from Kilkenny vs Rathmines A (Armstrong), played Saturday 19th February, 2011. Bd KILKENNY ICU no. Rating Result RATHMINES A ICU no. Rating 1 Alexander Baburin 7085 2482 1 – 0 Sam Osborne 6252 2084 2 Ryan Rhys … Continue reading

Posted in Armstrong Cup | Leave a comment

Ravenna Tournament one to look out for

Peter Lynch tells me a few Irish players are playing in this up-coming tournament, in early April 2011, so if you’re interested in it at all, talk to Peter.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Elm Mount well-beaten by Armstrong A team

Here´s the scorecard for Rathmines A vs Elm Mount in the Armstrong (10-Feb-2011) Bd Rathmines A ICU no. Rating Result Elm Mount ICU no. Rating 1 Mel O Cinneide 720 2182 0.5 – 0.5 David Fitzsimons 6236 2237 2 Sam … Continue reading

Posted in Armstrong Cup | Leave a comment

Armstrong B lose to close rivals Malahide

Malahide vs. Rathmines B, Monday 7th Feb 2011 Justin Daly 0-1 T Skrzypnik Gerry Buckley 0.5-05 A Kalam V Bissett 0.5-0.5 M Janusaitis F McMAhon 1-0 John Aherne Melyvn King 1-0 Tony Bermingham Alec Tyrrell 0.5-0.5 David Goggins Paul Reilly … Continue reading

Posted in Armstrong Cup | Leave a comment