Holiday Arrangements

Following a very enjoyable Christmas Blitz, the club will now be closed until Thursday January 4th.

Happy Christmas and New Year to all members.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Christmas Blitz on Thursday 14th

The annual Christmas Blitz has been running in the club for as long as any of us can remember. It’s a nice way to close off the year for the members usually with a big turnout and prizes galore.

Open for entries from 7.30 with first round at 8pm.


Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Blitz II on Thursday 23rd

The second round of the Blitz Grand Prix will be held on Thursday next. As usual, first game is at 7.45 and we will have 9 rounds, finishing at 10.30 approx.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Update on Clocks

We’re about to place an order for the DGT3000 clocks. The full cost is €28 per clock. Let John or me know this week if you want to add to the order for your personal use.


Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Rapid I on Thursday Next

The first round of the rapid grand prix will be on Thursday, 9th, next in the club. As usual, we will try to squeeze 4 rounds into the evening. Time control 15mins + 10secs with the first round kicking off at 7.45. Most games should be finished within 50mins in which case subsequent rounds will start at  8.40, 9.35 and 10.30 or a little later if rounds run over.

All members welcome to join in the fun.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Chess Clocks

You may have seen a notice on the ICU website regarding the possibility to purchase clocks at an attractive price. .The club will be placing an order. If you wish to add a personal order to the club’s order, contact John or Tony as soon as possible.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Club Closed Monday

Next Monday 30th is the October bank holiday and so the club will be closed. Open again on Thursday.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment