Club Championships Start On Thursday

Next Thursday, 20th, the club championships will commence. First round is at 7.30.

Thank you to all those you have already entered So far, we have 25 entries. If you haven’t entered already you can still do so by contacting Tony Bermingam at 087 2415582 or

As a last resort, you can enter on the night but be sure to do so before 7.30.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Easter Break

The club will be closed as usual over the Easter period, i.e. closed this Thursday 13th and next Monday 17th.

The club will reopen on Thursday 20th with the first round of the club championships. Entries to me at 087 2415582 or



Action from last week’s rapid where in a field of 20 players, top scorers on 3/4 were Jan, Greg, John A and Tony B.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Rapid Tournament on Thursday 6th

There will be a rapid tournament on next Thursday 6th. First round starts at Champions League Time, 7.45.  4 rounds of 15mins +10sec.

Hopefully some fun and an opportunity to play reasonable length games.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Club Championships 2017

As the league season nears the end, the final round is on Sunday April 23rd in the ALSAA Sports Club.

Usually our club championships take place after the leagues but with the late finish of the leagues and commencement of Leinster Cup competitions in May, the committee decided to make a start with our club championships during April.

There will be 3 sections (depending on entry numbers) based on the latest published icu ratings.
A: 1500 +
B: 1200 – 1599
C: up to 1199
In the interests of best competition sections may be amalgamated or players may be floated up a section, at the discretion of the controller.
  • Open to all current members of Rathmines Chess Club
  • 6 round swiss
  • 1 game per week
  • Rate of play 90mins + 15secs increment per move or 105mins all moves (quickplay finish rules apply)  if agreed by both players
  • ICU Rated – including an opportunity for unrated members to get on the rating list
  • Entry fee of €5 – to be paid to John Maher
  • Last year’s champions may play in higher section
  • In the event of a tie for first place the champion will be the determined by rapid play-off (25mins each, unrated) to take place on the Thursday immediately following the final round

    The schedule is as follows:

round 1: Thursday April 20th
round 2: Thursday April 27th
round 3: Thursday May 4th
free night: Thursday May 11th
round 4: Thursday May 18th
round 5: Thursday May 25th
round 6: Thursday June 1st

Entries by Monday17th to controller, Tony Bermingham, in any of the following ways:

reply to this post, or
email, or
on notice in club, or
directly to Tony

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

At The Business End Of The Leagues

All the Leinster Leagues are now in the final stages with generally one or two rounds to go. Now is a good time to take a look at how our teams stand.

In the Armstrong our objective is to consolidate our position this year in the top flight. We’re not there yet with one round to go, but avoiding the drop is within our control in the final round against Blanchardstown where we need 1.5 points to be safe.

Our Heidenfeld team sits comfortably in fourth in the table with two rounds to go. With a couple of good results we might overtake Elm Mount, who lie one point ahead of us, and thereby secure third place. However, achieving second would require us to bridge a six point gap to Curragh – not very likely!

Good news in the Ennis where our A team lies top. However, our guys could still be overtaken by Gonzaga for the top spot but still have a cushion 2.5 points over third placed Dun Laoghaire going into the last round. So, in that round our A team will be in contention for top spot and defending their promotion spot.

At the other end of the table, our B team is in the relegation battle and their most recent result where they secured 2.5 pts against Longford leaves them next to bottom in a last round scrap with Dublin and Curragh to avoid the drop.

Our Bodley team lies in second but with a number of teams chasing, all with two matches in hand, holding on to the high spot looks unlikely.

Neither of our O’Sullivan teams managed to get to the promotion places. Our A team did well getting to third place while our B team will finish mid-table – quite an achievement for a team with many newcomers to league chess.

In the individual performance tables two of our Ennis players, Panos and Sanjay have already passed the 8.5 board prize mark.


Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Blitz Tournament Next Monday

We will be holding our latest Blitz tournament in the club on Monday next Feb 20th. As usual we will have 10 rounds starting at 8pm. A good opportunity to have a bit of chess fun in the club.

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Rapid Tournament On Thursday

The first rapid tournament of the year will take place on next Thursday 26th. To ensure that we have enough time for 4 rounds the first round will start at 7.45 sharp so if you wish to play aim to be at the club between 7.30 and 7.45. Usual time controls of 15+10 apply.

For new members this is a good opportunity to have 4 games each lasting typically 30-40 mins – so, not too fast nor too slow. Pairings are seeded so you should be playing people of similar standard as far as possible.

Posted in Uncategorized | 1 Comment